Timothy Grotjohn - Michigan State University

Professor and Chair of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Tim Grotjohn leads Michigan State University's laboratory grown diamond materials effort and is a recognized wordwide authority on the subject. He also serves as the Research and Development Director of the Fraunhofer USA Center for Coatings and Diamond Technologies (CCD), which, in partnership with Michigan State University, provides innovative R&D services based on its expertise in coating and diamond technology.

Dr. Grotjohn's research interests include the modeling, design, diagnostics, and applications of plasma-assisted materials processes and processing machines. A strong focus of his work is the use of models, including electromagnetic, plasma dynamic, and plasma chemistry models, for the design and control of microwave plasma reactors used for materials processing. Specific processes studied have included diamond chemical vapor deposition (CVD), amorphous carbon deposition, semiconductor etching, and microwave-generated plasma discharges operated as ion and radical sources. In coordination with the modeling studies are his plasma diagnostic studies. His recent work looks in particular at mini- and micro-scale plasma discharges and their application.

Dr. Grotjohn is a member of IEEE (Senior Member), ASEE, Eta Kappa Nu, Sigma Xi, Phi Kappa Phi, Materials Research Society and American Vacuum Society. His professional service activities include: Program Chair, 2018 New Diamond and Nano Carbons Conference, Flagstaff, AZ; Co-Chair, 2017 Workshop on Diamond Electronics: Status, Challenges, and Opportunities, Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, MD; Elected Member of IEEE Plasma Science and Applications Executive Committee (2008-2010, 2014-2016); Co-Chair, 2009 New Diamond and Nano Carbon Conference, Traverse City, MI; and Conference Organizing Committee, 2006 IEEE International Conference on Plasma Science, Traverse City, Michigan. ( Conference Co-Chair).

Dr. Grotjohn obtained his B.E.E and M.S. in Electrical Engineering from University of Minnesota and his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University.